Autism Information Hub

Services and Support » Autism » Autism Information Hub

Gateshead Autism Hub is now back up and running following the easing of COVID restrictions. The Autism Information Hub is available to anyone with an interest in autism – parents/carers/family members, professionals, practitioners, or autistic individuals, with or without a diagnosis.

Parent volunteers:

Isabel Gordon – parent peer support

Regular professional contributors:

Alex Thompson (SEND Involvement Worker)

Karen Ruddick, Paul Swales and Leanne Hopper (Transitions)

Representatives from Early Years

Saskia Grassie (Senior Paediatric Occupational Therapist) – currently not available

Guest professionals from other agencies when available, eg SALT, Bowel and Bladder nurse etc.

The Autism Information Hub monthly drop-ins offer:

  • an opportunity to speak with professionals working with autistic children and young people, and to seek advice about any concerns you might have.
  • guidance on autism assessment and diagnosis in Gateshead
  • access to a wide range of books, information and resources on a variety of autism topics, including training, social events, group activities etc
  • a relaxed refreshment area where visitors can meet people and share experiences
  • guidance and signposting to appropriate support services and voluntary and charity organisations operating locally
  • free exclusive access to the sensory room for parents and carers attending the drop-in (children must be supervised by an adult at all times in the sensory room)
  • representatives from outside agencies who can advise on the help available from their services

Gateshead Autism Hub Facebook Group

Gateshead Autism Information Hub now has a Facebook Group for information sharing. The Hub welcomes parents and carers of autistic children, professionals and practitioners, autistic individuals and anyone with an interest in autism. You do not need to be a Gateshead resident to join.

Please join the group to access our resources, and feel free to share widely.

You can find the Facebook Group here:

www.facebook.com/groups/387109345806360

Autism Hub Parent/Carer Support Groups

The Autism Information Hub has two spin-off support groups for parents and carers of autistic children and young people. The daytime group meets between 9.30 and 11.30am on the first Friday of each month. The evening support group meets between 6.00 and 7.30pm on the Friday evening before the monthly drop-in session. Both sessions are at Elgin Children’s Centre.

These meetings are not open to professionals and practitioners.

The Autism Hub also hosts two virtual support group meetings per month. Joining details are shared through the Facebook Group.

All parents and carers are welcome to join the groups for mutual support and information-sharing about their autism experiences. Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate children at these meetings.

For further details please contact autismhub@gateshead.gov.uk

Drop-in and support group dates 2023

DAY TIME SUPPORT GROUP – first Friday of each month

SESSION RUNS 9.30AM – 11.30 AM

Friday 6th January

Friday 3rd February

Friday 3rd March

NO SUPPORT GROUP MEETING ON Friday 7th April – GOOD FRIDAY

Friday 5th May

Friday 2nd June

Friday 7th July

Friday 4th August

Friday 1st September

Friday 6th October

Friday 3rd November

Friday 1st December

HUB DROP IN – second Monday of each month

 SESSION RUNS 9.30AM – 11.30 AM

Monday 9th January

Monday 13th February

Monday 13th March

Monday 17th April

(this session on the third Monday due to Easter holidays)

Monday 15th May

Monday 12th June

Monday 10th July

Monday 14th August

Monday 11th September

Monday 9th October

Monday 13th November

Monday 11th December

EVENING SUPPORT GROUP – Friday before the monthly Hub Drop-In

 SESSION RUNS 6.00PM – 7.30PM

NO JANUARY MEETING

Friday 10th February

Friday 10th March

Friday 14th April

NO MAY MEETING

Friday 9th June

NO JULY MEETING

Friday 11th August

Friday 8th September

NO OCTOBER MEETING

Friday 10th November

Friday 8th December

VIRTUAL SUPPORT GROUP on ZOOM – first Monday of each month

 SESSION RUNS 9.30AM- 11AM

No January meeting

Monday 6th February

Monday 6th March

Monday 3rd April

No MAY MEETING (Bank Holiday)

Monday 5th June

Monday 3rd July

Monday 7th August

Monday 4th September

Monday 2nd October

Monday 6th November

Monday 4th December

VIRTUAL SUPPORT GROUP on ZOOM – third Wednesday of each month

 SESSION RUNS 7.00PM – 8.30PM

Wednesday 18th January

Wednesday 15th February

Wednesday 15th March

Wednesday 20th April

Wednesday 17th May

Wednesday 21st June

NO JULY MEETING

Wednesday 16th August

Wednesday 20th September

Wednesday 18th October

Wednesday 15th November

Wednesday 20th December

WALKING GROUP – alternate Mondays and Thursdays in the third week of each month

 Meet 10am (various locations tba)

Details will be shared via Messenger

places must be booked in advance

Monday 16th January

Thursday 16th February

Monday 20th March

Thursday 20th April

Thursday 18th May

Thursday 15th June

July date tba

Thursday 17th August

Monday 18th September

Thursday 19th October

Monday 20th November

Thursday 14th December (second week due to Christmas preparations)

Free car parking is available for the Autism Information Hub drop-in sessions and support group meetings.

Directions to the Elgin Centre can be found here:  The Elgin children’s centre.

A guide to claiming Child DLA (Disability Living Allowance) is available in person at the Autism Hub drop-ins or support group meetings.

The Elgin Centre also has a community cafe, a sensory space, play areas and toy library on site.

Click this link for more details about what’s on at The Elgin children’s centre.

For more information about services available at the Elgin Centre, contact Elgin Children’s Centre, Elgin Road, Gateshead, NE9 5PA, phone 0191 433 6300 or email gatesheadchildrenscentre@gateshead.gov.uk